A simple closed figure formed of three or more linesegments is called a polygon. The linesegments which form a polygon are called its sides.
The point at which two adjacent sides of a polygon meet is called a vertex of the polygon. The plural of vertex is vertices.

Types of polygons

A polygon with three sides is called a triangle.

A polygon with four sides is called a quadrilateral.

A polygon with five sides is called a pentagon.

A polygon with six sides is called a hexagon.

A polygon with seven sides is called a heptagon.

A polygon with eight sides is called an octagon and so on.

Scroll to Top