Any drawing which is straight and non-straight drawn without lifting the pencil from the paper and without the use of a ruler is called a curve. In everyday use curve means ‘not straight’ but in mathematics, a curve can be straight line also.

Simple curve: – A curve that does not cross itself.

  • Open curve: – Curve in which its endpoints do not meet.

  • Closed curve: – Curve that does not have an endpoints and is an enclosed figure.

    A closed curve has three parts which are as follows:

  • Interior of curve
  • It refers to the inside or inner area of curve.

    The yellow-coloured area is the interior of the figure.

    1. The exterior of the curve

    It refers to the outside or outer area of curve.

    The point marked B depicts the exterior of the curve.

    1. The boundary of the curve

    It refers to the dividing line thus it divides the interior and exterior of the curve.

    The black line which is dividing the interior and exterior of the curve of the boundary.

    • The interior and boundary of the curve together are called the curves its “region”.
Scroll to Top