An angle is made up of the two rays starting from a common endpoint. Two rays \overrightarrow {OP} and \overrightarrow {OQ} starting from the common point O form \angle POQ (or also called as \angle QOP) at O. Point O is called the vertex of \angle POQ. Rays \overrightarrow {OP} and \overrightarrow {OQ} form two sides of \angle POQ.

Note that in specifying an angle, the vertex is always written as the middle letter.

An angle leads to three division of a region:

  • On the angle
  • The interior of the angle
  • The exterior of the angle
Scroll to Top